Many of these scores are available at Lulu.

Concertos, Orchestra, Large Ensembles

• Techne et Episteme–Double Concertino for Flute, Violin and Orchestra
• The Crime of Galileo—Ballet Suite in Five Movements for Solo Piano and String Orchestra
• Caesar et Rubicon (for orchestra)
• The Nameless City (for orchestra)
• Symphony for Brass Choir and Percussion


• TorBeast—for six trumpets (commissioned by University of Michigan)
• Gormenghast Overture—mixed chamber ensemble
• The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress—for pandrum ensemble
• Invective Against Swans—for 8 trumpets
• Inscription for An Unintended Monument—for flugelhorn and piano
• Hooligan Wind—for trumpet ensemble, double bass, and percussion
• My Funny Valentine—arrangement for trumpet and jazz rhythm section
• A Community of Trees—six movements for piano, voice, trumpet, clarinet and flute
• After the Swan’s Song –Nocturne for Cello and Piano
• Songs from Far West (jazz trio)
• Arrangement of Hindemith's Mathis der Maler Grablegung (second movement) for Double  
  Bass and Piano
• A Tale of Great Ulysses—Ballade for Violin and Cello
• Three Roman Scenes for Brass Quintet
• Fanfare for a New Day (ver. I: for three B-flat trumpets)
• Fanfare for a New Day (ver. II: for two piccolo trumpets and one trumpet in ‘D’)


• A Community of Trees (for voice, piano, trumpet/flugelhorn, clarinet/bassoon, and flute 
• Elegy—In Memoriam Douglass Green (for wordless women’s chorus)
• The Sail of Ulysses  (for piano and double bass, string quartet, horn, text: Wallace Stevens)
• The Tomb Song (improvisatory quintet with vocalist)
• Zigeunerkind (mixed SATB chorus)
• Six or Seven Songs from Eight Significant Landscapes (song cycle for voice and piano)

Solo Piano/Keyboard

• Angel Eyes (carillon)
• Nocturne No. 1 (piano)
• Nocturne No. 2 (piano)
• The Tolling of the Iron Bell (carillon)
• Three Inventions for the Young Harpsichordist
• Transcription of Hindemith's "Mathis der Maler–Grablegung" (second movement), solo piano 
• Sonatina (three movements for solo piano)
• Canadian Suite  (five movements for solo piano)

©Kurt Ellenberger 2021 
Artwork: Vincent Van Gogh and Vilnos Aba-Novák.  Photography by Bernadine Carey